Thoughtful Horror

When another body is discovered - a young woman washed up by the tide - it seems that someone stalks the streets of the nearby town of Whitby, after dark.

Someone who preys on young women, and kills them in a very singular manner. And as crowds of Goths arrive to celebrate an annual festival, the scene is set for a gothic tale with a contemporary twist.
After Dark is a horror story set in modern day Whitby, the town where, according to Stoker, a certain Count came ashore.

In recent years, Whitby has held an annual Goth festival, and this surreal event sets the stage for a deliciously dark tale.

Please note that this is a short story of approx. 10,000 words.

England. A quiet stretch of wild countryside. An isolated farmhouse. And an American visitor taking a break from it all.
It sounds idyllic, doesn't it?

But on this night, the full moon looms especially large in the sky - a supermoon. And this event just happens to coincide with a lunar eclipse, tinging the moon with red.
But it's probably safe to be outside at night. After all, some things only happen once in a blood moon.

This is a contemporary horror story that will keep you guessing until the end.
Please note that this story is approximately 10,000 words long.

Click the image to see a preview via Amazon:

Try it Now - Click the Cover or the Buttons Below to Start Reading (new tab)

Don't be afraid. They're just stories, aren't they?

Sometimes that noise you can hear upstairs is just the old floorboards creaking as they settle down for the night. Sometimes.

But there's no need to worry because, that face you saw at the window was just a reflection. There's no one else here. You're alone. But that's OK because you're safe in your bed. And all those things you fear deep down in the dark reaches of your soul... well, they only happen in stories, don't they? A Dark Assortment is a collection of seventeen stories; a chocolate box of handmade treats. But beware - beneath each richly decorated shell, there's a seed of delicious darkness. These stories with a twist are perfect for fans of Edgar Allan Poe, and if you enjoy books like Ray Bradbury's "Illustrated Man" and Roald Dahl's "Skin" then we'll get along just fine. Oh - before I go, I'll wish you all Sweet Dreams.

An Anthology Featuring the Classic Ancient Enemies of Horror Fiction

Includes Two Stories by Mikey Campling

For millennia, they have watched us from the shadows, creatures we thought were nothing more than fantasy, or nightmare. Now they are here, among us, stalking us within the pages of this book. Vampires, Werewolves, the undead, and more. Our oldest foes, humanity’s Ancient Enemies.
Allow us to escort you through eleven stories by some of today’s newest voices within horror. But stay close, we cannot guarantee your safety.

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This
Professional Websites, Premium Hosting, Worry-Free Maintenance & First Class Support - all from Handbuiltweb
%d bloggers like this: